Archives for November 2017

English takes Sunday stableford on countback

Ollie English (13) was the winner of Sunday’s 14 hole Singles Stableford competition as he defeated Peter O’Brien (15) on countback after both had finished on 30pts.

English covered the first seven holes in 16pts, thanks to a birdie four at the seventh which yielded four points. He then failed to score at the short par four eighth but bounced back with a three point par at the ninth to turn with 19pts. He then picked up 11th more points from the next four holes which included a birdie two for four points at the 13th. That brought him to 30pts with one hole to go but he failed to score on the short par four 14th.

However, the 20pts he had scored over the last nine holes were enough to give him overall victory from O’Brien.

Conor McCaughey (5) took third overall with 29pts and also recorded the best gross score of the day with 25pts.

Pat Donaghy (12), Danny Gallagher (13) and Dermot McKenna (22) took the category prizes.

Fourteen Hole Open Singles Stableford – Overall: Ollie English (13) 30pts, Peter O Brien (15) 30pt, Connor  McCaughey (5)  29/20pts. Category 1 (0-12): Pat Donaghy  (12 ) 29pts,. Category 2  (13-17): Danny Gallagher (13) 28pts. Category 3 (18-28): Dermot McKenna  (22) 28/19pts. Best Gross: Connor McCaughey 25pts. CSS: Non-Qualifying


Sunday Stableford

1st :     Ollie English    (13)             30 pts

2nd :   Peter O Brien   (15)           30 pts

3rd :     Connor McCaughey (5) *     29/20 pts

Category 1 (0-12)

1st : Pat Donaghy (12 )             29 pts

Category 2 (13-17)

1st : Danny Gallagher (13)   28 pts

Category 3 (18-28)

1st : Dermot McKenna (22)       28/19 pts

  • Best Gross – Connor McCaughey 25 Gross Points *



Back nine birdies deliver another win for Shane

Shane Hession (5) won his second Sunday competition in four weeks when he shot 40pts to win this week’s Singles Stableford event.

Hession went out in 19pts after shooting eight pars and then amassed 21pts on the homeward nine where he had four birdies at the 10th, 13th, 15th and 17th. He failed to score at two holes, the eighth and 18, where he had double bogey sixes. His gross score of 35pts was also the best gross score of the day.

Martin Farrelly (14) took second overall on countback after shooting 39pts which included 23pts on the back nine. The Category winners Jim Dwyer (9), Bobby McCarthy (15) and Joe Garvey 18).

Sunday, November 5 – Singles Stableford  – Shane Hession (5)  40pts, Martin Farrelly (14) 39/23pts. Category 1 (0-12): Jim Dwyer (9)  39pts. Category 2  (13-17): Bobby McCarthy  (15)  39/20/16pts. Category 3  (18-28): Joe Garvey (18) 39/22 pts. Best Gross: Shane Hession 35pts. CSS: Non Qualifying.


Dundalk wins Dungreen Trophy

Dundalk have won the Dungreen Trophy which is an annual competition played with Greenore. The event took place in Dundalk last Thursday, November  2, when 120 competitors played in near perfect weather conditions. It was a shotgun start competition which was the first time this type of format was used.

In a very closely fought contest, where the best 10 scorecards from each club counted, the host club emerged victorious by a score of 382 points to 377 points.

The Dundalk winning scorers were: Tommy McDonnell [22] 41pts, Oliver McGinnety [24] 40 pts, Colm Garvey [20] 39 pts, Pat Daly [20] 38 pts, Tom Clarke [17] 38 pts, Jim Gallogly [19] 38 points, Gerard Daly [13] 37 points, Seamus Bailey [11] 37 points, David Brennan [14] 37pts and Sean Taaffe [19] pts.

The Individual Winners were Tommy McDonnell and Oliver McGinnety of Dundalk while the Greenore winners were Gordon McLaren (10) 41 points and Jim Sheridan (11) 40 points.

Sunday Singles Stableford


1st :     Shane Hession     (5)             40 pts

2nd :   Martin Farrelly   (14)           39/23 pts

Category 1 (0-12)

1st : Jim Dwyer (9)                           39 pts

Category 2 (13-17)

1st : Bobby McCarthy (15)           39/20/16 pts

Category 3 (18-28)

1st : Joe Garvey (18)                       39/22 pts

  • Best Gross – Shane Hession 35 Gross Points *


Ladies Winter League tees off

The Winter League a 9 Hole Stableford  Competition which saw Round One being played on Saturday, October 28 and Tuesday, October  31.

The scoring was fantastic with Betty Rogers winning Class A with a superb 21pts. Judy McDonough also had an excellent score of 21pts in winning Class B while Class C was won by Maura Shelly with a very good score of 18pts.

This was great golf from these three players and we will be watching the teams at the top of the leader board as the competition progresses.

Winter League Round 1 – Class A: Betty Rogers (12) 21pts, Olivia Cunningham (12) 20pts, Theresa Connolly (17) 19pts/16pts. Class B: Judy McDonough (25) 21pts, Mary A McDonnell (25) 18pts/7pts, Anne Murray (21) 18pts/4pts. Class C: Maura Shelley (36)  18pts/7pts,         Grainne Mullins (36) 18pts/6pts, Oonagh Quinn (33) 18pts/5pts. Two’s – 5th : Siobhan Rogers. 9th: Olivia Cunningham , Theresa Connolly, Una Kelly and Diane Arthur

2017 ladies winners receive their trophies and prizes

Lady Captain Maeve Ahern recently presented the winners of some of the major tournaments held during the year with their trophies and prizes at a special presentation evening in the Clubhouse.

Ladies Club Foursomes Winners Mary McDonnell and Mary Dooley pictured with Lady Captain Maeve Ahern.


Winner Marie MacKell receives the Rawson Cup from Lady Captain Maeve Ahern.


Mary Burlingham receives the Tempest Dish from Lady Captain Maeve Ahern.


Violet McGeady is presented with the Club Cup by Lady Captain Maeve Ahern.


Clarke Salver winner Bernie McCabe with Lady Captain Maeve Ahern.


Jacinta Foran receives the Lait Cup from Lady Captain Maeve Ahern.


Winners of the Three Lady Rumble: Back (from left): Geraldine McGeough, Olive Lowth, Front (from left): Lady Captain Maeve Ahern, Jennifer Holland.


Winners of The Final Golfer of the Year Competition. Back (from left): Briege Renaghan, Joan McKenna, Pauline Campbell. Front (from left): Jennifer Holland, Nora Byrne, Lady Captain Maeve Ahern, Katherina Conneally Sloan.


Halloween Hamper Winners: Back (from left): Nuala Henry, Olive Jones,Elizabeth McGuinness, Grainne Mullins. From (From left): Una Kelly, Lady Captain Maeve Ahern, Nora Byrne, Catherine MacGuinness.