Senior Scratch Cup

Rory McNamara of Headford GC winner of the Dundalk SEnior SCratc






Clive Jeffers, Jeffers Sportsturf presents Rory McNamara (Headfort GC) with the 2014 Dundalk Senior Scratch Cup along with club captain, Brendan Cleary.

The Dundalk Senior Scratch Cup is one of Ireland’s leading tournaments for elite amateur golfers and previous winners include three times Major champion Pádraig Harrington.

Harrington took the title in 1995 in his last year as an amateur while Michael Hoey, a five time winner on the European Tour, was the champion in 2000.

The 36 hole event commenced in 1963, the inaugural competition on Sunday, May 12, 1963, set the tone for the following 50 years with an entry that included Walker Cup players Joe Carr, David Madeley and our first champion Dr. David Sheahan.

The 2013 event was won by home club member Aaron Grant, the first time a member won since Dan Coyle’s victory in 1991.

Previous Winners

2014: Rory McNamara – Headfort
2013: Aaron Grant Dundalk GC
2012: Stephen Healy Claremorris GC
2011: Ciaran Molloy Ardee GC
2010: Rory Leonard Banbridge GC
2009: James Fox Portmarnock GC
2008: Derek Downie Sutton GC
2007: Stephen Grant Birr GC
2006: Simon Ward Co Louth GC
2005: Michael McGeady North West GC
2004: Des Morgan Mullingar GC
2003: Noel Fox (Portmarnock)
2002: John McGinn (Greenore)
2001: Michael McGeady (City of Derry)
2000: Michael Hoey (Shandon Park)
1999: Gary Cullen (Beaverstown)
1998: John Foster (Ballyclare)
1997: David Doggett (Co Louth)
1996: Graeme Kennedy (Skerries)
1995: Padraig Harrington (Stackstown)
1994: Colm Murphy (Clandeboye)
1993: Ray Moore (Laytown & Bettystown)
1992: David Gibson (Downpatrick)
1991: Dan Coyle (Dundalk)
1990: Pat Killeen (Claremorris)
1989: Paul Bray (Hermitage)
1988: Peter Rogers (Dundalk)
1987: Pádraig Hogan (Elm Park)
1986: Barry Reddan (Co Louth)
1985: Frank Flynn (Laytown & Bettystown)
1984: Paul Rayfus (Trim)
1983: Eddie Condren (Greystones)
1982: Frank Gannon (Co Louth)
1981: F Flynn (Laytown & Bettystown)
1980: John Carr (Sutton)
1979: Ray Moore (Laytown & Bettystown)
1978: Val Smyth (Laytown & Bettystown)
1977: John Dickson (Hollywood)
1976: Mick Morris (Portmarnock)
1975: Adrian Morrow (Hermitage)
1974: Rory McCormack (Warrenpoint)
1973: Declan Brannigan (Laytown & Bettystown)
1972: Declan Brannigan (Laytown & Bettystown)
1971: M.J. Malone (Belvoir Park)
1970: G.N. Fogarty (Royal Dublin)
1969: J Clynch (Laytown & Bettystown)
1968: Pat Mulcaire (Woodbrook)
1967: B.P. Malone (Tullamore)
1966; J.B. Carr (Sutton)
1965; J.B. Carr (Sutton)
1964; G.N. Fogarty (Royal Dublin)
1963: David Sheahan (Grange)

Open Competitions

Following the opening of all the bunkers, we are delighted to announce that the Wednesday open and Thursday semi open competitions will commence this week.
The rates for this week only are €6 per member and €10 per visitor and there after will be €6 for members and €20 per visitor. Timesheet are now live on the BRS.
Please note that members may book a time on Thursday and have the option to play in the competition or play casual golf.

Arrangements for postponed qualifier

Gold Medal Qualifier

The postponed Gold Medal Qualifier last Sunday will be played this coming Sunday, with the House Committee Cup to be played at a later date to be confirmed by the Tournament Committee.

The original timesheet for last Sunday’s quallifer will carry forward to this Sunday.

Finally, please note any golfer who played in Saturday’s completed qualifier cannot play in this Sunday’s qualifier.

New bunkers in play

A reminder to members and non-members that this Wednesday’s open singles stableford competition presents the first opportunity to play the course following the completion of the extensive greenside bunkering programme which is to be complete by Tuesday.

This competition is now open on the BRS and is €6 for members and €10 for non-members.

Gala Concert

Patricia Treacy







Dundalk & District Lourdes Invalid Fund

Dundalk and District Lourdes Invalid Fund presents a gala night of Music and Song in Dundalk Golf Club on Wednesday, April 22nd at 8.30pm.

This special night features Ireland’s premier violinist, local woman Patricia Treacy and local sopranos Ann Carroll and Deirdre Morgan.
Also featuring on the night will be Paddy Martin and Connall Duffy on  Uilleann pipes and the Dundalk String Quartet.
The night will be hosted by Francie Duffy and Marty Garland. Tickets available from committee members and at the office at Dundalk Golf Club, priced €15 each – spot prizes on the night.


Country & Western Jamboree

Country & Western Jamboree

Dance to Henry Mac at the golf club’s Country & Western Jamboree on Saturday 18th April
Prizes for best dressed cowboy and cowgirl!!
€15 per person.  Booking essential.
contact The Restaurant or call Declan on 087 2871080.

Dundalk Senior Scratch Cup

Entries are now open to the 53rd Senior Scratch Cup being held in Dundalk Golf Club on Sunday April 26th.Senior Sratch Cup


Captains Drive-in 2015

No 2 No 5 No 8 No 10Bdrive in Dundalk

Members Saving Purse

The members saving purse for their 2016 annual subscription will re-open on March 3rd.

Savings can be made through the bar or office.

Midweek competitions

In light of the on-going works on the course Council have decided to defer the commencement of Wednesday and Thursday competitions until April 1st.

Thank you for your continuing co-operation.