Senior Scratch Cup

Rory McNamara of Headford GC winner of the Dundalk SEnior SCratc






Clive Jeffers, Jeffers Sportsturf presents Rory McNamara (Headfort GC) with the 2014 Dundalk Senior Scratch Cup along with club captain, Brendan Cleary.

The Dundalk Senior Scratch Cup is one of Ireland’s leading tournaments for elite amateur golfers and previous winners include three times Major champion Pádraig Harrington.

Harrington took the title in 1995 in his last year as an amateur while Michael Hoey, a five time winner on the European Tour, was the champion in 2000.

The 36 hole event commenced in 1963, the inaugural competition on Sunday, May 12, 1963, set the tone for the following 50 years with an entry that included Walker Cup players Joe Carr, David Madeley and our first champion Dr. David Sheahan.

The 2013 event was won by home club member Aaron Grant, the first time a member won since Dan Coyle’s victory in 1991.

Previous Winners

2014: Rory McNamara – Headfort
2013: Aaron Grant Dundalk GC
2012: Stephen Healy Claremorris GC
2011: Ciaran Molloy Ardee GC
2010: Rory Leonard Banbridge GC
2009: James Fox Portmarnock GC
2008: Derek Downie Sutton GC
2007: Stephen Grant Birr GC
2006: Simon Ward Co Louth GC
2005: Michael McGeady North West GC
2004: Des Morgan Mullingar GC
2003: Noel Fox (Portmarnock)
2002: John McGinn (Greenore)
2001: Michael McGeady (City of Derry)
2000: Michael Hoey (Shandon Park)
1999: Gary Cullen (Beaverstown)
1998: John Foster (Ballyclare)
1997: David Doggett (Co Louth)
1996: Graeme Kennedy (Skerries)
1995: Padraig Harrington (Stackstown)
1994: Colm Murphy (Clandeboye)
1993: Ray Moore (Laytown & Bettystown)
1992: David Gibson (Downpatrick)
1991: Dan Coyle (Dundalk)
1990: Pat Killeen (Claremorris)
1989: Paul Bray (Hermitage)
1988: Peter Rogers (Dundalk)
1987: Pádraig Hogan (Elm Park)
1986: Barry Reddan (Co Louth)
1985: Frank Flynn (Laytown & Bettystown)
1984: Paul Rayfus (Trim)
1983: Eddie Condren (Greystones)
1982: Frank Gannon (Co Louth)
1981: F Flynn (Laytown & Bettystown)
1980: John Carr (Sutton)
1979: Ray Moore (Laytown & Bettystown)
1978: Val Smyth (Laytown & Bettystown)
1977: John Dickson (Hollywood)
1976: Mick Morris (Portmarnock)
1975: Adrian Morrow (Hermitage)
1974: Rory McCormack (Warrenpoint)
1973: Declan Brannigan (Laytown & Bettystown)
1972: Declan Brannigan (Laytown & Bettystown)
1971: M.J. Malone (Belvoir Park)
1970: G.N. Fogarty (Royal Dublin)
1969: J Clynch (Laytown & Bettystown)
1968: Pat Mulcaire (Woodbrook)
1967: B.P. Malone (Tullamore)
1966; J.B. Carr (Sutton)
1965; J.B. Carr (Sutton)
1964; G.N. Fogarty (Royal Dublin)
1963: David Sheahan (Grange)