Rafferty wins Club Championship

Caolan Rafferty

CLUB CHAMPION: Caolan Rafferty

Caolan Rafferty captured the Club Championship for the first time when he replicated his first round 69 in the second round to win by four shots from Aaron Grant.

Rafferty, who is in superb form at present, held a three shot lead over Grant going into the final round. Although Grant improved on his first round score by two shots in carding a two-under par 70, Rafferty held his nerve and returned a three under par 69 for a two round total of 138, six under par.

Chris Blackmore took the Round 2 Gross Prize with a 71 with Neal MacKell taking the Round 1 accolade after a 72. The Round 1 Nett went to Ruairi Gogarty with Ciaran Traynor taking the Round 2 prize.

Rafferty’s had taken firm control of the Club Championship, which is confined to members with a handicap of nine or better, after the First Round.

The plus three handicapper, shot a three-under par 69 to lead by three shots from the club’s other plus handicapper, Aaron Grant (+1), who carded a level par 72.

Having opened with two straight pars, Rafferty got the first of five birdies, at the par-four third and followed that with back-to-back birdies at the par-five sixth and par-five seventh before turning in four-under with a birdie two at the ninth. He gave a shot back at the par-five 10th, got back to four under with a birdie four at the 12th and eventually finished at three under following a bogey five at the difficult 15th.
A birdie three at the opening hole got Grant off to a great start but a double-bogey six at the index one fourth was followed by a birdie four at the sixth and a bogey four at the ninth as he turned on one-over. A birdie at the par five 12th got Grant back to level par and he parred his way home for a 72 to lie three shots behind Rafferty.

Neal MacKell (4) also shot a 72 with Maurice J Murphy (3) on 74 as ten players found themselves within eight shots of the leader but in the second round nobody was able to put enough pressure on Rafferty and he held on for an impressive wire to wire victory.

2015 Club Championship – Overall: 138 – Caolan Rafferty (+3)   69/69, 142 – Aaron Grant (+1) 72/70. Round 1 – 1st Gross: Neal MacKell (3) 72, 1st Nett: Ruairi Gogarty (7) 69/33. Round 2 – 1st Gross: Chris Blackmore (1) 71, 1st Nett: Ciaran Traynor (6) 70/22/10. CSS 72.