Clem Walshe wins Hilary Gold Medal

The Hilary GClem Walsheolfing society was founded in 1953 by Sutton Golf Club’s Michael Fitzpatrick and Joe Carr to provide low handicap and professional golfers with competitive golf on links courses in advance of the coming season. The society gets its name from the Hilary law term which extends from Christmas to Easter each year.

Eligibility of the society is reserved for professional and low handicap golfers of less than 6. Over the years many of the country’s top professionals have been members including Harry Bradshaw, Paddy Skerritt and Bobby Browne. The society has also included many of the leading Irish amateurs some of whom went on to very successful amateur and professional careers.

Members play for both individual and team prizes at each outing but the main award of the society is undoubtedly the Gold Medal which is presented to the player with the overall best nett score from three of the five outings played. Venues for the 2016 Hilary included Royal Dublin, Portmarnock, Baltray, Bettystown, Seapoint and Portmarnock Links.

Clem Walshe from Dundalk Golf Club won the 2016 Gold Medal with a total of -4 nett from his performances in Portmarnock Links, Seapoint and Baltray. It was the second time he won the coveted prize having previously secured victory back in 2001.