Eagle-eyed Byrne wins Paddy Markey Cup

It was a good weekend for Frank Byrne who was part of the club’s Fred Perry team that reach the third round of this new national competition following their 4-1 win over Greenore on Friday.

On Sunday, Byrne, who plays off eight, won the first Golfer of the Year competition of the season when he shot a five under par 67 to claim the Paddy Markey Cup. He was one shot ahead of five handicapper Alan Hurley while Club President, Dessie Ward (13) claimed the Veterans Prize with a level par 72. Neal MacKell, a member of the club’s senior panel, shot 75 to win the gross prize.

After a double bogey six at the first, Byrne reeled off three successive pars to steady the ship and after dropping a shot at the index 15 par three fifth, he birdied the par five sixth which was followed bogeys and seven and eight where he had shots. A par at the ninth saw him turn in a 36 nett, level par for his round and that set him for a charge to the winner’s podium down the back nine.

It began with an eagle three at the par five 10th, where he holed a sand wedge from 95 yards, and this was followed by pars at the 11th and 12th before back to back birdies at 13 and 14.He holed a putt from off the green at 13 and then rifled an eight iron approach to six feet at 14.  Bogeys at the low index 15th and 16th followed before he closed with a par on 17 and a bogey five on 18, his only dropped shot on his five under par homeward journey and an overall nett score of 67.

Category winners on Sunday were Mark Cumiskey (9), Conor Hackett (12) and Sean Gallagher (21).

Sunday, April 28 – Paddy Markey Cup and Veterans Prize – Overall: Frank Byrne (8) 67, Alan Hurley (5) 68. Veterans Prize: Dessie Ward (13)    72. Gross: Neal MacKell (3) 75/36. Category 1 (<11): Mark Cumiskey (9) 69/30.5, Gregory McCaughey (6) 69. Category 2 (12-17): Conor Hackett (12) 69, Aaron Waite (13) 70. Category 3 (18+): Sean Gallagher (21) 70/33.5, Pearse Murphy (18) 70. Best Gross: Alan Hurley (5) 73. CSS: 72.