Tuite takes the honours with faultless round

Anthony Tuite took full advantage of the excellent conditions on Sunday to shot one of the best rounds of the year and win the Members Prize at the Past Captains event.

The 14 handicapper shot a gross score of 78 for 44pts but even then he needed his score over the final three holes to see off Gerry Brennan (5) on countback. Tuite’s card had no blanks or one pointers as he played a near faultless round off the green tees.

After opening with two two point bogeys, he then parred the next holes for a haul of 16points and he turned for home on 22pts. He also covered the back nine in 22pts with a run of five pars from the turn giving him a further 13pts and his final par, which was his 12th of the round, came on the index 14 par three 17th.

As well as finishing second overall, Brennan had the consolation of recording the day’s best gross score of 39pts while Peter Rogers, who was the club’s Centenary Captain in 2005, won the Past Captains and Presidents Prize, with an excellent 40pts off a two handicap.

Damien Garland (8), Dermot McKenna (15) and Michael Byrne (21) were the category winners while Cillian Halpenny (19) won the Juvenile Prize. 

Sunday, August 25 – Past Captains and Members Prize – Overall: Anthony Tuite (14) 44/22/13/7pts, Gerry Brennan (5) 44pts. Category 1 (0-12): Damien Garland (8) 42/20pts, Ciaran Traynor (7) 42pts. Category 2 (13-17): Dermot Mc Kenna (15) 42/22pts, Conor Mc Clenaghan (17) 42pts. Category 3 (17+): Michael Byrne (21) 39pts, Seamus Kelly (18) 38pts. Past Captains & Presidents: Peter Rogers (2) 40pts, Gerry Byrne (19) 39/20pts. Gross Recognition: Gerry Brennan (5) 39pts. Juvenile: Cillian Halpenny (19) 41pts. CSS 71/37pts.