Dream start see Teather finally deliver to take House Committee Cup

After knocking on the door a few times over the last years, Derek Teather (16) finally got over the line when he won the House Committee Cup by one point from Tom Clarke (18).

A dream start gave Teather the perfect platform to launch what proved to be the best score of the 257 strong field. He parred the first for three points and then birdied the second for four points to sit on seven points after the opening two holes.

Two two-point bogeys followed at three and four before a par at the short fifth yielded another three points and left him on 14pts after five holes. He could only manage a one-point bogey at the par five sixth but picked up two-point bogeys at seven and eight before closing the front nine with another three-point par at the par-three ninth.

That gave him an impressive return of 22pts at the halfway stage and after two bogey at ten and a one point double bogey at 11 he parred both the 12th and 13th for a six point haul that took him to 31pts with five holes to go.

It’s usually at this point that many good rounds start to go off the rails but there was no sign of pressure as Teather parred the index 18 par four 14th for two points and bogeyed the long 15th for another two points.

He dropped a shot at the index four 16th but the one point gained there would ultimately proved crucial as he parred the 17th to complete an impressive haul of 12pts from the four par threes on the course. A bogey five at the 18th for two points saw him complete the back nine in 19 points for an overall score of 41pts,

It proved to be just enough as Clarke and Padraig Ó Gallachoir could only get to 40pts with Clarke pipping Ó Gallachoir on countback after a shooting a sizzling 23pts over the back nine.

Ó Gallachoir did take Category Two with Eugene Hanratty (8) and Michael Browne (21) winning the other two categories while Rory Henry (14) was the Juvenile winner and Senior Cup panellist Conor Curran (1) won the Gross Prize.   

Saturday, August 8 and Sunday, August 9 – House Committee Cup Singles Stableford – Overall: Derek Teather (16) 41pts, Tom Clarke (18) 40/23pts. Gross: Conor Curran (1) 37pts. Cat 1 (0-12): E.J. Hanratty (8) 39/20/13/6/4pts, Clem Walshe (4) 39/20pts, Sean Reidy (5) 39pts. Cat 2 (13-17): Padraig Ó Gallachoir (13) 40pts, Patrick Dunne (16) 39pts, Sean Gallagher (16) 35pts. Cat 3 (18+): Michael Browne (21) 36pts, Noel McGuinness (19) 35/19pts, Gareth Herr (18) 35/18pts. Juvenile Winner: Rory Henry (14) 37pts. CSS: Saturday – 35pts, Sunday – 36pts.