Rogers, McCarthy and Kenny take Junior, Intermediate and Minor Scratch Cups

EDDIE Rogers (4), Bobby McCarthy (13) and Adrian Kenny (18) captured the Junior, Intermediate and Minor Scratch Cup as 242 players teed it up over the last weekend in August for three of the most sought after trophies on the fixture list.

Having won Leslie Walker’s Professional Prize a few weeks ago, Rogers came into the Junior Scratch in fine form and produced an excellent round of 33pts as three competitions were decided this year on stableford gross scores rather than the traditional stroke gross scores.  

After opening with a brace of two-point pars on the opening two holes, Rogers recorded his only blank of the day on the third where he had a double bogey six. However, he parred five of the next six holes and birdied the par five sixth to turn in 17pts.

From the turn Rogers reeled off five successive pars for another 10pts to move to 27pts and picked up another six points over the final four holes to finish on 33pts.

In the Intermediate Scratch Cup, Bobby McCarthy went out in 13pts helped by parring both par threes and both par fives on the opening nine. Down the back he strung together five successive pars from the 13th having already parred the 10th and came home in 15pts. That back nine proved crucial as his final figure of 28pts was matched and he prevailed on countback.

The Minor Scratch Cup was won for the second time by Adrian Kenny, 15 years after his first triumph in 2005 when it was a 27 hole competition. He got off to a slow start with three double bogeys leaving him pointless until a bogey five at the fourth gave him his first point of the round. He picked up another eight points to the turn thanks to pars at the fifth, seventh and eighth and went to 11pts with bogeys at the 10th and 11th. Then came a run of four successive pars and a haul of eight points followed by one point bogeys at the 16th and 17th. He finished with a double bogey blank but had done enough to take his Minor Scratch title.

John Casey McKeever (14) took the Best Nett score with an excellent score of 42pts which included nine three-point holes and saw him finish in style with a birdie on the last for four points as he covered each nine in 21pts.

Emmet McCabe Savage (11), Declan Muckian (13) and Derek Williams Jnr (18) took the category prizes with Cillian Halpenny (12) winning the Juvenile Prize.   

Saturday, August 29 & Sunday, August 30 – Junior Scratch Cup (4-9): Eddie Rogers (4) 33pts. Intermediate Scratch Cup (10-16): Bobby McCarthy (13) 28/15pts. Minor Scratch Cup (17+): Adrian Kenny (18) 21pts. Best Nett: John Casey McKeever (14) 42pts. Category 1 (<13): Emmet McCabe Savage (11) 39pts, Turlough King (11) 38/19/14pts. Category 2 (13-17): Declan Muckian (13) 38pts, John McCann (15) 36/19pts. Category 3 (18+): Derek Williams Jnr. (18) 37pts, Paul Lynch (20) 36/22pts. Gross Recognition: Eoin Murphy (0) 39 gross points. Juvenile Winner Cillian Halpenny (12) 37pts. CSS: 72/36pts.