Eagle helps Cairns soar to victory in Lady Captain’s Prize to the Men

David Cairns produced one of his best ever performances to win Pauline Campbell’s Lady Captain’s Prize to the Men.

Playing off 16 he shot a round of 41pts and took the overall prize on countback from in-form teenager Lee Egan (11) and Michael McNamara (26).

His round included seven three-point pars and a five-point eagle as he holed his approach shot to the par four eighth. The eagle made up for four one-pointers on the front nine and allowed him to turn in 20pts. Indeed, it absolutely transformed his round as he followed it with three successive three-point pars to the 11th.

His double bogey six for one point on the last proved absolutely vital as it got him to 41pts and he won on countback thanks to his 13pts down the back six compared to Egan’s 12pts. McNamara, who also shot 41pts lost out on the back nine with 19pts to the other two’s 20pts and had to settle for third overall.

Captain Trevor Giff (9) captured the Division One prize on countback after being tied on 39pts with John Paul Casey (11) while Francis McGuigan(17) won Division Two with 39pts on countback from recent Minor Scratch Cup winner Gerry McDermott (18). Ray Pepper (23) claimed Division Three with Dave Dorr (21) edging out Hugh Reilly (22) on countback after both had tied on 38pts.

Eoin Murphy (+2) delivered the day’s best gross score with 35pts.

Saturday, July 17 and Sunday, July 18 – Lady Captain’s Prize to Men (IJM GOY 2) – Overall: David Cairns (16) 41/20/13pts, Lee Egan (Juvenile) (11) 41/20/12pts, Michael McNamara (26) 41/19pts. Gross: Eoin Murphy (+2) 35pts. Division 1: Trevor Giff (9) 39/18pts, John Paul Casey (11) 39/17pts, Martin Crosby (8) 38pts. Division 2: Francis McGuigan (17), 39/19pts, Gerry McDermott (18) 39/16pts, Noel McGuinness (19) 38pts. Division 3: Ray Pepper (23) 39pts, Dave Dorr (21) 38/18/12pts, Hugh Reilly (22) 38/18/10