Murphy holds off challenge from O’Hanrahan and Rogers to win House Committee Cup

Stephen Murphy held off the challenge of Harry O’Hanrahan and James Rogers to win the House Committee on countback after all three had tied on 41pts.

Murphy, playing off 16, had gone out in 21pts thanks to three-point pars at the third, fifth and seventh and came home in 20pts after three-point pars at the 10th, 15th and 17pts.

O’Hanrahan, also came home in 21pts, and that knocked Rogers into third place as he had only 17pts on the back nine after a sensational 24pts on the front which included a four point par at the first.

Murphy had covered the back six in 13pts and O’Hanrahan was left to rue a blank on the 17th and a one point return on the 15th as he covered the final six in 10pts and had to settle for second place.

Aaron Grant with 40pts took the Gross prize while David Lynch (13), Noel McGuinness (19) and Rogers took the divisional prizes.

Rogers good form continued on Wednesday in the Deluxe Bathrooms sponsored Wednesday open and this time he made no mistake as he took the overall victory by one point from Danny Miele after shooting 42pts.

He went out in 20pts with a four point par at the seventh and a three point par at the first and then had three-point pars at the 11th, 14th, and 15th before finishing with a four point par at the last.

Shane Byrne (10), Conor Murray (17) and John Farrell (19) took the divisional honours with Aaron Grant claims his second gross prize of the week with 37pts.