Dundalk Scratch Cup


The Dundalk Senior Scratch Cup is one of Ireland’s leading tournaments for elite amateur golfers and previous winners include three times Major champion Pádraig Harrington.

Harrington took the title in 1995, in his last year as an amateur, while Michael Hoey, a five time winner on the European Tour, was the champion in 2000.

The 36 hole event commenced in 1963 and the inaugural competition on Sunday, May 12, 1963, set the tone for the following 50 years with an entry that included Walker Cup players Joe Carr, David Madeley and our first champion Dr. David Sheahan.

The 2013 event was won by home club member Aaron Grant, the first time a member won since Dan Coyle’s victory in 1991 and another Dundalk winner followed in 2016 when Caolan Rafferty took the title. Rafferty, who won the South of Ireland Championship in 2018 and the West of Ireland Championship in 2019, also won the Dundalk Scratch Cup in 2018 and 2019.

The event is currently sponsored by One Finance and the 2020 Scratch Cup will take place on Sunday, September 13.

[table id=3 /]