County titles for Boys U18 and U15 teams

Dundalk Golf Club’s Boys’ U18 Monarch Cup winning team. From left: Zak Alderdice, Michael Staunton, Paul Malone (manager), Vincent Conlon (manager), Conor Murphy, Declan Curtin, Joseph Laverty. Absent: Sean Laverty.

THE inter-cub juvenile season finished on a high for the club as our Boys U18, U15 and U13 teams reached three county finals and won two of them recently at Ardee Golf Club.

The U18s won the Monarch Trophy for the fourth time in five years and completed an impressive three-in-row in the process. They beat Co Louth in the semi-final with Zak Alderdice & Declan Curtin and Michael Staunton & Conor Murphy both winning 2&1 to secure the win. In the final against Ardee, Staunton & Murphy sealed their victory on the 13th but Alderdice & Curtin were beaten the 15th leaving the match delicately poised with Dundalk’s hopes resting on cousins Sean and Joseph Laverty. They had been three down after nine but got the match back to all square by the 15th and then won the 16th and 17th to snatch a 2&1 win and secure the winning point for Dundalk. It was a great win for Dundalk who used 12 different players throughout the competition and fielded five U16s in the final. It was Dundalk’s 11th win in the competition since it started in 1991.

The U15s claimed their third Seapoint Trophy with wins over Greenore in the semi-final and Co Louth in the final. The team was Tom Dunne, Christopher Clarke, Cillian Halpenny and James Reilly with Fionn Duffy as the unused sub. It’s been a great year for Cillian Halpenny as he was named Juvenile Golfer of the Year and the end of season awards night last week.

The U13s just missed out making it a treble for Dundalk as they went down to Greenore in the final of the McCooey Cassidy Trophy having beaten Co Louth in the semi-final. This was another very young team and there is no doubt that Lee Egan, Cian Spaight, Rory Henry and Eoin Purton as well as the unused subs Ben Cahill and Sean Spaight are ones to watch in the coming years.

Dundalk Golf Club’s Boys’ U15 Seapoint Trophy winning team. From left: Paul Malone (manager), Fionn Duffy, James Reilly, Chris Clarke, Jim Carragher (manager), Tom Dunne, Cillian Halpenny, Vincent Conlon (manager)