McCaughey takes President’s Prize

DUNDALK Connor McCaughey produced a superb display of golf on Sunday to deservedly win Dessie Ward’s President’s Prize and add another victory to what is turning out to be a great season for the five handicapper.

He went around in one under par gross for a nett total of 66 and won by a shot from another low man, Alan McDermott (5) who shot level par gross for a 67 nett.

After opening with three straight pars, McCaughey finally a reward for his excellent driving and iron play on the index one fourth when he sank a 20ft birdie putt after a sublime eight iron approach. Another exquisite eight iron following a an equally impressive drive on the index 11th set up another birdie and although he had a slight wobble coming home when he recorded back to back birdies at the 14th and 15th, he took full advantage of the wind at his back on the 16th when he launched a six iron to two feet on a pin that was perched precariously on the edge of a steep ridge than dissects the green.

In addition to his three birdies and two bogeys, McCaughey also had 13 pars and managed to hold off McDermott who took second overall on countback from Aaron Waite who had the consolation of winning the Category Two prize while Christy Ward took Category One and Conor McCleneghan claimed Category Three. Clem Walshe (4) shot level par 72 to take the gross prize while Olle English (14) carded a net 70 to win the Veteran’s Prize with James Reilly (17) taking the Juvenile accolade.

Sunday, July 21 – President Dessie Ward’s Prize – Overall: Connor McCaughey (5) 66, Alan McDermott (5) 67/33. Gross: Clem Walshe (4) 72. Veteran: Oliver English (14) 70. Category One (0-11): Christy Ward (7) 69, Damian English (10) 71/34/19.7. Category Two (12-17): Aaron Waite (12) 67, Gerry McDermott (17) 68/32.5. Category Three (18+): Conor McCleneghan (20) 69, Sean Maguire (18) 70. Juvenile: James Reilly (17) 68. CSS: 72 

Ward takes Gerry Murray’s President’s Prize

Declan Ward produced one of the best rounds of the years over the blue course to win Gerry Murray’s President’s Prize on Sunday in ideal conditions.

The 19 handicapper shot a seven under par 65 to take this keenly contested major by two shots from Conor Marron (25) with Bernard White (16) a shot further back on 68. They were the only three players out of a superb field of 212 to shoot in the sixties.

Ward’s round included a birdie at the par five index three seventh after he left himself with an easy putt following a superbly executed approach shot over the water from 170 yards.

However, he handed back the shots gained on seven at the next hole when he recorded a triple bogey seven after finding himself in bunkers on either side of the green.

A par at the ninth saw him turn in two under net and a strong finish which saw him par four of the final six holes got him to seven under and he signed for what proved to be an unbeatable 65.

Marron covered the front nine in one under par and did better on the back nine as he recorded a four under par net total of 32 on his way to five under par 67.

Bernard White, who shot a 68 for the third best score of the day, won the Veterans Prize with Maurice Murphy (3) taking the gross prize after shooting a 73. Shaun Ward (11), Aidan Gaughran (13) and Martin McCaughey (21) took the category prizes.

Clem Walshe’s (5) 71 in the President’s Prize has propelled him to the top of the Golfer of the Year table after six rounds. His four best cards have given him a total of 287 which is four ahead of Danny Miele (11) with Neil Mulooly (6) two shots further back in third on 293.

Sunday, July 22 – Gerry Murray’s President’s Prize – Overall – Declan Ward (19) 65, Conor Marron (25) 67. Gross: Maurice Murphy (3) 73. Veteran: Bernard White (16) 68. Category 1(0-12): Shaun Ward (11) 70/32.5, Christy Ward (8) 70. Category 2 (13-17): Aidan Gaughran (13) 70/33.5, Peter O Brien (15) 70. Category 3 (18+): Martin McCaughey (21) 72, Michael Ryan (21) 73/32.5. CSS: 73.

Golfer of the Year (best four cards after six rounds): 287 – Clem Walshe; 291 – Danny Miele; 293 – Neil Mullooly; 294 – Ciaran Johnson, Peter Rogers; 295 – Christy Ward, Brendan Keane, Neal MacKell; 296 – Aiden Gaughran, David Brennan.





Waite wins President’s Prize

Aaron Waite receives his winner’s prize from President Noel McGuinness.

Noel McGuinness’s President’s Prize over the Blue Course proved to be a tough test on Sunday with 12 handicapper Aaron Waite emerging as the winner after being the only player in the 202 strong field in break 70 nett.

Waite shot a 69 nett to pip another 12 handicapper, Trevor Giff, by one shot, Richard Newell (2) took the Gross Prize with a one over par 73 while Richie Barry (10) won the Veterans Prize with a 71.

The length of the course, coupled with a strong North Westerly wind and some very tricky pins let everybody in doubt that they were playing in one of the club’s major competition and Waite showed tremendous composure to emerge as winner.

Pars at the second, third, fifth and sixth had him in good shape after six holes but then he had a triple bogey eight at the formidable par five seventh which threatened to derail his challenge.

But he bounced back with back to back pars at the ninth and tenth and then rolled in successive pars at the 12th, 13th and 14th. Two more pars arrived on the 17th and 18th as he returned a nett score of 69 having managed to cover the back nine in 39 gross.

Sunday, July 21 – President Noel McGuinness’s Prize – Winner: Aaron Waite (12) 69, Runner-Up: Trevor Giff (12) 70/34/18. Gross: Richard Newell (2) 73. Veteran: Richie Barry (10) 71. Category 1 (0-12): Karl Stewart (8) 70, Ciaran Johnson (10) 71/34/22.7. Category 2 (13-17): Brendan Keane (13) 71, Padraig Gallagher (13) 72/34.5. Category 3 (18+) Gerry Campbell (25) 73/34.5, Jimmy O’Connor (21) 73/35.5. CSS: 73.